South India’s first luxury train, The Golden Chariot, has another action packed season ahead of itself. Starting from October, 2014, the luxury train has 26 departures lined up for the upcoming season. The train’s 2 itineraries – Pride of the South and Southern Splendor – have been carefully designed to present the real essence of southern India to its guests. This blog details  the  Pride of the South journey of the Golden Chariot, thus explaining the tour program of Karnataka.

 Shortened Pride of the South Itinerary

Golden Chariot Train Facilities

Day 1- Bangalore

Bangalore The day and your journey begin with a traditional welcome by the train staff, after which you are escorted to your royal cabins and the train will soon begin its journey and move out of Bangalore.

Day 2 – Kabini/Bandipur

Fresh breakfast is served early aboard the Golden Chariot after which you set out on a journey to visit the jungles and wildlife environs of Kabini/Bandipur. In the afternoon, guests arrive in Kabini and, after a hearty lunch in the jungle lodge, are taken to the Bandipur National Park.

Overnight stay and dinner will be arranged for you in the jungle resort.

Day 3 – Mysore

Day 3 begins with your journey towards Mysore. Lunch is served en-route. The train arrives in Mysore by afternoon after which sightseeing is organized across the city. Mysore’s best attractions – Srirangapatna and Brindavan Gardens scheduled for visit today. The day ends with an excursion to the Lalitha Mahal Palace where a sumptuous dinner is savored while enjoying a cultural performance.

Day 4 – Hassan

Day 4 takes guests to Hassan, a popular Indian destination most noted for its religious overtones. Shravanbelagola is first on the list of destinations. The train later proceeds to Halebid and Belur.

Day 5 – Hospet

The train runs all night and reaches Hospet early in the morning. The local attractions slated for visit today are Virupaksha temple, the Elephants’ stables, and the local crafts bazaar. Lunch is organized in the train itself. The remainder of the day features visits to sites of Hampi such as the Hazara Rama temple, and the royal enclosure, the Vittala temple.

Day 6 – Badami

Day 6 takes guests from Hospet towards Badami. Breakfast is served onboard  as the train arrives in the town of Badami. Badami’s popular attractions include the Badami Caves and Pattadakal. The train then heads to its final destination, Goa.

Day 7 – Goa

The Goa sojourn begins with visits to the local churches and the Old Portuguese house – Sola Souto Maior. Tea and cookies are served while you enjoy a sumptuous Goan lunch. The train later heads back to Bangalore for the last leg of its journey.

Day 8 – Bangalore (Return)

Relish a well-laid breakfast as your Pride of the South journey comes to an end at Yashwanthpur Railway Station, Bangalore.